Diwali 2017 Day 1: Vasubaras

The festivities of Diwali start by worshipping the cows. The first day of the Diwali is devoted by worshipping the cows. The day is also known as Vasu Baras, Govatsa Dwadashi, or Nandini Vrat. According to the Hindu calendar, Vasubaras falls on the month of Ashwin on the 12th day of Krishna Paksha. This year it is on 16th October 2017.

The beginning of the Vasubaras

The origin of the Vasubaras is related to the story of the “Samundar Manthan”. The story goes that when the demons and the Gods were churning the ocean for obtaining the nectar, the cow named Kamadhenu appeared out of the ocean. Kamadhenu was a divine cow that lived in the heaven and it was gifted by the Gods to the seven sages. During the course of time, the possession of the divine cow was given to Sage Vasishta. The specialty about this cow was that it had the ability to grant all the wishes of the owner. Thus the belief that on the day of Vasubaras, by worshipping the cows wishes will be granted by the God.

you may like: Best Rangoli Designs for Diwali 2017

The divine cow of wishes and desires was different from the regular cow it had a female head, a bovine body, peacock’s tail, and wings of the tropical bird.

On this day the cows and calves are fed with tasty preparations of wheat. The major states where this ritual is followed are Gujarat and Maharashtra. In the rural parts of India, where cows are the only means of income, this day is celebrated with a lot of enthusiasm as they thank cows for providing their families.

You may like: Happy Diwali Wishes Greeting Cards

Today’s Panchangam

Paksha: Krishna Paksha

Tithi: Dwadashi – 24: 26

Nakshatra: Purva Phalguni – 30: 12

Yoga Shukla – 19: 25

Karana Taitila – 24: 26

Today’s Panchang

Purnimanta month: Kaartika

Amavasyanta month: Ashwin

Shaka Samvatsara: Hevilambi

Vikram Samvat Varsha: Sadharana

Rahu Kal: 7: 53 – 9: 20

Gulika Kal: 13: 38 – 15: 04

Yama Gandam: 10: 46 – 12: 12

Today’s Rashi

Ravi Rashi (Sun Sign): Kanya

Chandra Rashi (Moon Sign): Simha

The Auspicious Timings

Amrita Kalam: 23: 47 – 25: 23

Abhijit Kalam: 11: 49 – 12: 35

Timings to be Avoided

Durmuhurthams: 14: 53 – 15: 38

Varjyam Kalam: 14: 09 – 15: 38

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply